Hi

I work as a clinical psychologist in the NHS. I'm starting to produce some brief 'blueprints' for overcoming difficulties. This one is for social anxiety. hope you find it uesful. I've had to eddit it slightly as the models could not be pasted.

The nature and prevalence of social anxiety

In many ways social anxiety is similar to the normal experience of shyness that most people feel sometime or another. Social anxiety, however, is considered more severe because it interferes with a persons life to such an extent that they experience intense and excessive anxiety in social situations or they avoid social situations altogether. Some people with social anxiety find all social situations anxiety provoking whilst others find only particular activities such as talking in a group or signing a cheque provoke the unbearable levels of anxiety. Most people with social anxiety experience anticipatory and post event anxiety. Anticipatory anxiety is the anxiety associated with thinking about a forthcoming social event and post event anxiety is that which occurs following a social event where the person mulls over the event in their mind looking for social blunders.
Social anxiety is one of the most common anxiety disorders in the UK and is the third most common psychological problem in the US after depression and alcoholism. It is something that many people experience in a mild form but some people find themselves more seriously affected by it. Social anxiety is not well understood by the general public and is only recently being understood by medical and mental health care professionals. In fact, people with social anxiety are mislabeled with problems such as "schizophrenic", "manic-depressive", "clinically depressed", "panic disordered", and "personality disordered", among a host of other misdiagnoses. Social anxiety is not a sign of any more serious physical or mental illness, but it can be extremely uncomfortable.

Do I have social anxiety?