Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting a hobby - a positive outlet!

Cool Getting a hobby - a positive outlet!

Recently I have visited an old hobby of mine - as sort of a positive outlet to take my mind off things.
    I started playing drums around 5 years ago but then when I started getting the axiety/depression/panic attacks around 3 years ago I didnt really do it as much.
    I decided to bite the bullet and dig out my electronic drum kit from the attic (you know the ones with the headphones) and sinse then when I am at home and feeling rubbish I decide to do an hour or so of drumming. Most of the time I dont feel like it but after I feel much better and get a sense of achievement from getting the fills right and learning new songs; and its also good exersise!

I would invite anyone to revisit an old hobby or strike up a new one - even if it takes your mind off things for half an hour thats better than nothing!

xxx
    "You're not alone,Together we stand,I'll be by your side, you know I'll take your hand. When it gets cold, And it feels like the end,There's no place to go, You know I won't give in,No I won't give in...,Keep holding on, 'Cause you know we'll make it through, we'll make it through, Just stay strong,'Cause you know I'm here for you, I'm here for you...."

Re: Getting a hobby - a positive outlet!

Cathy

You have a very good point there and i am really glad your hobby is helping you.

I used to love drawing but haven't done it in so long. I think you may have just inspired me to pick up my pencils again!

Lovely post thanks

Lisa
    xxx

My motto - Dont think about it, just do it!

Pick up that Pencil

xxx