Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: day 5 and not sleeping

day 5 and not sleeping

Hi i am day 5 into citalopram and find i am not sleeping at all, i've been taking it at about 4pm. My doctor prscribed some sleeping tablets yesterday to get me through but although i nodded of quite quickly last night i was still awake every 2 hours and tonight i cant sleep at all, even before i went on the meds i was sleeping some. Am i better taking my tablet at another time or will this pass?

Re: day 5 and not sleeping

Hello, I am no expert, but I think it could be early days for your body to adjust to the medication.

Have you tried all the old fashioned sleep aids eg warm bath before bed, lavender oil on your pillow, relaxation CD before bed etc etc. I take sleeping pills and they help me most of the time but I get the odd bad night (probably why I am typing on here so early in the morning)

Trouble is when you have had lack of sleep it can make you feel so tired and fragile. Take extra good care of yourself and hope your sleep improves soon,

Best Wishes

Sarah x

Thanks for your reply Sarah, here i am again after an hours sleep and i woke with extreme anxiety. I have had citalopram before and it worked wonders for me but i keep thinking it wont work this time after things ive read. Its also harder to cope with after no sleep as when i woke yesterday id had a few hours the night before and i seemed a tiny bit better (just anxiety but it wouldnt go into a full attack, it was like my body wouldnt let it) and i was hopeful the tablets were starting to work, now im not so sure...

Hi,

you should really take it first thing in the morning. Insomnia is a common side effect but is usually solved by taking it so long before bedtime. I am on citalopram and if I forget to take it first thing, I am wide awake at bed time.
    Also, it is also common for anxiety to increase in the first couple of weeks with this drug. Try persevering as it does settle.

Happyone
    xx