Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to the drug...

New to the drug...

Hi, I'm Mark in Canada. Im 37 and this is my first time here. I actually took my first Citalopram this morning, and I'm really glad I found this forum. Somewhere I can go for support, advice, or just to feel like I'm surrounded by people who will understand this journey I'm about to go on. So, Thanks Everyone in advance!

Re: New to the drug...

Welcome Mark. Youve definately found the right place for support, advice and for people who understand what your going through

Hey - great to meet you!
    The early days on Citalopram can be pretty rough, but you'll find this forum an absolute godsend.
    Keep talking if it ever feels too hard - we've all been there and lived to tell the tale.

Thanks all, already feeling pretty good about taking the pills knowing theres a light at the end of the tunnel. I can say that I've already gone through dizziness, headache and nausea..all on Day 1! lol! Bring it on! Recovery is worth it!

what dose are you on?

Quote Originally Posted by chickpea View Post
    what dose are you on?
    Just 20mg

20mg is quite a high dose to start on, so if you feel ok'ish after the first dose, you should be ok over the next couple of weeks before it really starts to do it's stuff.
    One dose of 20mg all but killed me in the beginning, so I dropped down to 10mg and stayed on that for 5 weeks.
    I worked up slowly to 20mg and had been really well on that for a couple of months before last week's minor blip (depression, more than anxiety, and tied in with my young children's problems and money worries - so not unexpected).

Are you taking it for anxiety, or depression...or both?

My anxiety started after a couple of years of hell, during whichI was carjacked at knifepoint and my father spent 6 months in ICU, before having his life support switched off.