Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Im Rory, new to this site!

Im Rory, new to this site!

Hi Guys,

After reading a number of posts on this forum, it comforts me to see that other people are going through similar things!

I graduated from university over the summer and secured an internship for the same uni that i went to. I enjoyed university and did well, i tried my best at something for the first time in my life and it really paid off. I was full of confidence by the end iof it. When i started at uni, the thought of presentations scared the life out of me (i know i wasnt alone there), but by the end i had practiced a few times and i was even vlounteering for off the cuff ones (the thought of that now amazes me).

Just before Christmas i was attending a workshop with 15 colleagues. I was asked a question by the person running the workshop and i thought for a second. A thought came into my mind "what if you cant remember what to say, how embarrassing would that be". I panicked, I felt shattered and scared, I couldnt speak and i wanted to get out of there. Someone else took over and I regained my composure after a minute or two. I tried to input into the workshop as much as i could in order to offset the panic i had had.

I thought this was just a one off. The next day I went to an interview with a sports marketing company for an internship. I love sport, so i thought it was right for me. I was interviewed by three people, and they started to un me though the role. As they were doing this i felt the panic coming. I was asked the first question and the panic rushed into me. I felt boiling hot, i was losing vision, I felt shattered and i couldnt get my words out. I improved after that and the interview went well in the end. I didnt get the job because of the panic.