Thread: ARE YOU TOKOPHOBIC - extreme fear of pregnancy/childbirth

Landmark Films Guest

ARE YOU TOKOPHOBIC - extreme fear of pregnancy/childbirth

Do any of these phrases ring true for you, if so I'd love to hear from you:

ARE YOU TOKOPHOBIC?
    DO YOU HAVE A DEEP-SEATED FEAR OF PREGNANCY AND/OR CHILDBIRTH?
    HAS THIS FEAR BEEN SINCE CHILDHOOD (primary tokophobia) & YOU HAVE YET TO HAVE A CHILD?
    ARE YOU SCARED OF GETTING PREGNANT THAT YOU DOUBLE UP ON CONTRACEPTION
    DOES THE SIGHT OF A PREGNANT WOMAN FILL YOU WITH DREAD?
    DID YOUR PHOBIA START AFTER A TRAUMATIC BIRTH (secondary tokophobia)?
    WOULD YOU DEMAND A C-SECTION DUE TO THIS FEAR?
    HOW DOES THIS FEAR IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE AND RELATIONSHIPS?

I work as a development producer at Landmark Films (www.landmarkfilms.com) in Oxford, England. We make documentary singles and series for all the major broadcasters including BBC1, BBC2, BBC3, an Ch4. In fact, we recently made My Child Won't Speak (on selective mutism, a phobia of speaking) which aired on BBC1 to great ratings and reviews. We also have a history of one-off docs on medical conditions and phobias.

I am now developing a documentary idea on tokophobia and have interest from a couple of broadcasters in commissioning a one-off film on this phobia.

I'm keen to speak in confidence to women who have tokophobia or suffer from an extreme fear of pregnancy and/or birth phobic. This is fear beyond the normal anxiety that women experience. It can be so strong that it prevents women from even trying to get pregnant.

Please do get in touch if you suffer from tokophobia or know someone who would be willing to talk to me.

I am looking for birth phobics who may or may not have had children.

As mentioned this is just at an ideas stage, but I'd love to talk to you in confidence if you're happy to. The best number to get me on is the mobile 07984 169 859 as I work from home or email emma@landmarkfilms.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.
    best