Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MND fear

MND fear

This is a new anxiety which has been affecting me recently- fear of a neurological disorder. A few weeks ago I started getting lower back aches, it would come and go depending on what activity I had been doing and would always be gone in the morning, after lying down.

It went away for a couple of weeks, and then I was playing golf on the Wii and bent over slightly and felt a painful twinge, and it's ached on and off since then. I then read a news article about a man whose lower back pain turned out to be an early symptom of MND!

Well obviously that made me worried, I since have convinced myself that I have constant muscle twitching (which I do, occasionally, but only when relaxed) and therefore must have some sort of disease.

REALLY getting to me now. Anyone else experienced the same fear? I keep thinking that my muscles feel weak, tired etc and my hands feel numb occasionally.

Funny thing is, I work as a waitress, and when I'm at work and my mind's on something else I don't experience any problems. If I'm standing around though sometimes the backache comes on, but the other 'symptoms' appear only when I'm anxious, I think. If the backache continues I'm going to see a doctor. I'm only 19 and I feel like an old aching woman sometimes!

Re: MND fear

Couple of things.

1) It could just be a bad back. I hate shopping with my girlfriend, for the last 12 or so years I haven't been able to stand or walk about without getting a sore back after about an hour. If I'm active playing sport I don't notice it, but when bored and being dragged around the shops it really makes itself known.

2) There is a harmless condition called Benign Fasciculation Syndrome (BFS). This is where the body shakes/twitches/tremors. But it isn't linked and can't develop into anything else.