Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Testing Time!

A Testing Time!

I wasn't going to post but a friend reminded me how important success stories are so here's mine about today. Need to give a bit of background info as to why I coped so well so bear with me, it may be long!

I am a teacher and have emetophobia (fear of being sick - myself and others). Yesterday we went on a school trip and I was terrified all the way there on the coach. On the way back a little girl (L) sat by me. As we went under a tunnel she reached out for my hand and said 'I don't like tunnels but I'm going to be brave, can I hold your hand?' So we held hands and carried on talking. I said I don't like aeroplanes and I'm going on one soon and she said 'Oh, Miss, don't be scared. You should be brave like me, you will be fine and if not I can come and hold your hand like you held my hand under the tunnel when I was scared'.

So today, the very same child had an awful cough. Now in my mind coughing and being sick are very closely linked so I was on alert all morning. During middle lesson she was coughing badly so I sent her to get a drink but she seemed fine. The children worked at their tables and she was chatting away happily so I didn't think much of it. Then, just as I was getting the class back onto the carpet, I heard the noise and then someone shouted 'L's been sick'. Well obviously mind goes into overdrive and heart starts beating faster, hands and voice start shaking etc.

And then I stopped.

I remembered what she had said to me yesterday on the coach and thought I need to pull myself together, the child is 5 years old and has more sense than I do. I thought sod it, I'm gonna do it, I'm not gonna run away, I will be brave - L style!