Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Psychiatrist vs GP

Psychiatrist vs GP

Hi All,

Just wondered if anyone has ever seen a Psychiatrist, I think I'd like to see one as I've been fighting anxiety (and the depression) it causes for around 4 years now and don't feel the GP's are particularly good.

Can you ask to be referred from a GP?

Also how much is a session with a private Psychiatrist and if they prescribe can you still get the medication through the NHS?

Jeb.

Re: Psychiatrist vs GP

Hi.

You should be able to get a refferal from your GP if you ask for one, just say you feel it will help you and its what you want, I dont see why they should disagree with that.

If you go private expect to pay £150+ I would say probably, a heck of a lot but worth it in the long run if you feel that it will help you.

Hi Jebdog you should be able to get a referral to an NHS psychiatrist but it might be a long wait. I see my psychiatrist privately and he charges £160 for a half an hour. He will write a private prescription which you can pay for or he usually writes to my GP and she writes an NHS one. My husband has private health insurance or the fees can escalate if you are referred for any sort of therapy. Usually people have health insurance and only self pay if they can afford it. This is within the Priory Group and he is a consultant. Initial assessments are more and usually last an hour.

Cost, I defer to others there in the UK, as I am in the USA.
    I see a psych. now for 10 months, but is not much into therapy. Medication I trust her more than a gp. Wish I could find another person for the counseling that understands anxiety.

£160 per half hour?

that is an outrage, i was paying around £70 for an hour.

Are you sure yours isn't a plumber for the other half hour?