Thread: new job = low self worth...advice please!

new job = low self worth...advice please!

Hi guys,

I recently started a new job as a Healthcare Assistant in a nursing home via a nursing agency. I have just finished my first year of general nursing but this didn't equip me with much physical experience, more theory etc.
    Anyways, I started my job a few weeks ago and have done about 7 or 8 days ( 12 hour shifts). The staff are nice enough there - but I was never orientated to the ward and I feel like a fool cos I never seem to understand the routine. Also, anytime i ask one of my colleagues a question its like there looking down on me because i "should" know. Perhaps I am making these assumptions but there have been several times that ppl have made it clear that im not experienced.

The problem is I love to work with the patients but I hate going into work because I'm having trouble grasping the routine. It makes me feel bad about myself that I can't do my job.

Am I putting too much pressure on myself to be able to do the job perfectly? I mean, i've only been at it a week or so technically...

It's just been getting me really down because I feel inadequate and this is adding to my anxiety quite alot..

any advice i will listen

Re: new job = low self worth...advice please!

I have worked in many nursing homes over the years and i'm a bit disappointed that no-one is supporting you, whenever anyone new came to one of the homes i always took them under my wing until they knew the ropes properly.

Is there any one person that maybe you could ask for help there?

di x

when ever you start a new job it takes time to know the routines as every employer has different routines. You will pick it up as you go along. Try not to worry and just take one day at a time

denise

yes its typical, but its true there should be at least one decent person, that knows how it feels to be new to something.