Thread: Bad experience lead to fear of holidays

Bad experience lead to fear of holidays

Hi All,

I am new to No More Panic and am really hoping this can help me.

Long story, I'll try to cut short -

2 years go myself and my fiance went on holiday to Malaysia, which I was looking forward to SO much! Leading upto the holiday I couldn't be more excited. The flights seemed fine, until about an hour before we were due to land at our destination when I was overcome with feeling sick and terrible stomach pains, this was the start of what was to be the worst experience of my life.

We landed and I got progressively worse, we got to the hotel and I spent the first couple of hours were spent on the toilet. I managed to regain my composure enough to leave the hotel and see the sites, only to have to cut the sightseeing short to rush back to the hotel. The same story repeated itself for 3 days straight, watching the holiday of a lifetime go by out the hotel window.

It got to the stage where I had to call a Dr, he came out and put it to dehydration, gave me some tablets and said if it got worse I should go to the hospital. It got worse.

Myself and my fiance jumped into a taxi and went to the hospital, I began to hyperventilate due to the pain / panic / fear of what was going on, by the time we arrived at the hospital I could barely breathe. I crawled into a packed 'A&E' and my face started to lose functionality (due to hyperventilating) I was OVERCOME with panic and fear and thought I was going to die!! I was put on a drip and taken through to a dirty area of the hospital where they decided what to do with me. I had an xray which shown I was severely constipated (the long flight etc would not have helped) and this was a result of years of constipation! I was given an enema and had to 'administer' it myself. Traumatizing experience in itself.