Thread: When things are New...

When things are New...

Hello... I am new to this and not really sure where to start! Not even sure I am supposed to be posting this message here, but here goes anyway....

My problem at the moment is severe anxiety related to a new relationship with someone and right now I feel completely awful! Hot flushes in arms, sick, horrible feeling in stomach, like I want to cry.... I suffer from anxiety and panic generally, and have also been on anti-depressants for 11 years (I'm 27)... but sometimes I suffer bouts of anxiety / depression which are far worse than the symptoms I would normally experience.

I have recognised definite triggers for when I start feeling so bad like this and have also recognised that these symptoms are a direct consequence of having felt this way in previous situations with a new partner - or indeed a situation that is new and scary... circumstances that have made me feel very unhappy, anxious, unsettled and insecure.

I have learned all about the "fight or flight" response and physical reactions in the body that take place when faced with something that has previously made me feel really bad. I know that these horrible feelings of dread and anxiety wash over me when there is a significant shift in behaviour from my new boyfriend and he shows he is really keen and shows affection in return to affection I show him, or when things move to the next stage or seem to be progressing in some way. I'm really not used to this and any time it has happened in the past, the person has been very obsessive / possesive and made me feel smothered. Therefore, these horrible feelings are always triggered now no matter who the person is!