Thread: Drinking while taking these..

Drinking while taking these..

Hello..

I was just looking for some advice..

Im going out this sat night with my girlfriend and some friends,..

going to prob be drinking.. I am on 10mg Amitrip a night and have been for 2 and half weeks.. ?

is this wise?

Re: Drinking while taking these..

Im seeing the doc on wednesday regarding my current symptoms .. so I will ask him but i know he will tell me its not a good idea..

i just wanted to know if anyone has experienced achohol with anti d's

Yes , i was on them for about 8 months , same dose as you 10mg . I drank on them with no problems. I used to skip one night when i was going out and resume them the next night . Just don't go over the top , enjoy your night out
    Paige x

thats great .. yeh i will give one a miss then ..

thanks very much

Hey Adam,

I study psychology and although I am by no means a professional or qualified in this field yet, I do know a lot about the medications associated with it. I'll give you my opinion

While you can have a few drinks and give amitryp a miss once every now and then, I would advise not to skip them often, and try not to drink a lot even if you do skip your medication because amitryp is a rather strong drug which stays in your system for a few days after you stop taking it.

but like Paige said, if you are going to drink I would say to definitely not take your medication within 6 hours of drinking alcohol (so either take it int he morning or skip it completely), and to limit your alcohol intake anyway. By all means enjoy yourself Just be aware that even though you don't take the medication on that day drinking alcohol may still affect you differently than it usually would. The biggest problem with combining alcohol and medication is that the medication causes you be affected by alcohol faster than usual.