Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need to sort myself out!

need to sort myself out!

Why cant i sort myself out, i should know and be able to do this as its what i do in my job all the time help/support others in dealing with any problems they have. How can i support others and not use the advice i give for myself. Im fed up of being me, up and down. Why cant i just get on with things without making a fuss. sorry just a moan. just feel alone with it all, as noone knows how i feel.

Re: need to sort myself out!

This rings a bell with me, it's not a moan, it's how I feel too! I work in a hospital and spend my days reassuring people and telling them they will be ok and we will all look after them-and inside I often feel like I'm losing it. Last week, I rang my counsellor at 8am, when she wasn't dressed or anything and had her come into town to sort me out-and then I came to work and spent the rest of the day sorting other people out, even though I didn't really feel like it. Maybe it makes us better at our jobs, because we know how people feel!

I think this is a common theme. I also work for the NHS, and although I don't do patient care, I'm a trade union rep so spend a lot of time sorting out other peoples' problems.

The issue (I think) is that it's about how much we value ourselves - or rather, how much we *don't" value ourselves. It's "worth it" to give advice to someone else, but when we look at our own problems, it suddenly becomes too much hassle, and we end up not bothering about ourselves.

Hi catt and blue angel,

tahnks for replies kind of dont feel its only me now. I guess its easier to help others than it is to help ourselves. You can look at others froma different view but when your stuck in it its hard to step back and use the advice you give to others on yourself. Its just getting me down though and i need to snap out of this stupid mood ive got myself in.