Thread: Would appetite increase with dose increase? Really need to gain weight

Would appetite increase with dose increase? Really need to gain weight

I've been given this to help my appetite increase, however I'm only feeling slightly more peckish and not getting all these fantastic cravings I hear people talk about. I am around week 4 on 15mg. If I went up to 30mg would it increase the appetite stimulant? I desperately need to gain weight, very soon, and was hoping this would help.

Re: Would appetite increase with dose increase? Really need to gain weight

I'm not a medical expert but my own experience is that there is no significant increase in appetite on a higher dose. I take 45mg. I think maybe you need to look at what you are acually eating and portion size in order to increase your weight. Simple things such as having full fat milk and yoghurts and also snacks during the day the opposite to most of us taking mirtazapine. I would also ask your GP to refer you to a dietician as they can provide a diet sheet for you to follow, track your weight and see if there are any lifestyle changes you need to make in order to put on weight. Best of luck EJ.

Hi Mumble.I found that my emetophobia actually stopped the cravings as my fear was far more powerful. As soon as my anxiety reduced I noticed the cravings for cakes and chocolate appear with a vengeance!
    As ElizabethJane suggested, try to use full fat products and you can also try this site that I used to track my daily calories. It's meant to be for dieters, but can be used the other way too
    http://www.foodfocus.co.uk/