Thread: Hi - New here and some advice needed

Hi - New here and some advice needed

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here and I am a little nervous .

I have suffered from Health Anxiety for the past 5 years. I am 35 and a mum to 4 lovely kids who I adore.

My anxiety has hightened over the past few years as we have lost quite a few family members within a short space of time (uncle, aunts, cousin).

My current "obssesion' is with my moles. I have a few aytpical moles on my body and have convinced myself in the past few weeks that at least 3 of them are melanoma. I've had them checked out by my dr (who is fab) and she reasured me that they all look fine. Anyway, I had a mole on my back which I had for at least 20 years. I started to get really obsessed with it and had it looked at by 2 different drs who both said it looked fine. The second dr removed it by burning it off (can't remember the exact name of the procedure). (this was done 3 months ago) I didn't have it biopsied and over the past few weeks I've started to really stress about 'what if' if was nasty and I didn't have it checked out. Since then I've been having pain in that area but I'm not sure if it's because I am constantly touching/rubbing that area to check if it's ok. Is it possible to make pain/soreness/tenderness in an area through stress/worry? I'm not sure what I should do now to reasure myself. I don't want to spend the next few months working myself into a frenzy

So sorry this post is long and not a specific question. Just wondered if anyone could offer any advice/reasurrance?

I forgot to add that my dr has recommended CBT and given me a prescription for Cis (something or other anti depressants). I am unsure of whether to take them.

Many thanks!!
    Last edited by mum-of-4; 19-12-10 at 13:26. Reason: forgot to add

Hi mum-of-4

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.