Thread: Medication?

Medication?

I hope all is well, I'm in a bit of a dilemma so i was just hoping for some advice. I was diagnosed with Anxiety and Depression about 5 years ago. I believe that the depression was overcome after about 2 years but do always worry about it returning and believe it has returned.

My doctor is lovely, however, i am worried as he has admited he has not much experience dealing with Anxiety (which i believe is my main problem) I have had courses of CBT and NLP during the 5 years.

Anyway, Sorry for the rambling in this post. Anxiety, for me, presents itself strangely, certain social situations in particular and i believe that i have a degree of agrophobia- I can't even walk down my street alone. However I am in my third year of University. (I live on Campus, and rarely stray from here aside from to go home when i have to get a lift) I have been reluctant to try medication before trying therapy but after years of CBT and an awful hypnotherapy experience, I decided to ask the Doctor about it. I had read about Citalopram and talked through this with him so this summer I began on 10mgs-- and it was then upped to 20 mgs. I experienced no change. I returned to my Doctor after 2 months, and he gave me a repeat prescription. I returned again, explaining that I was reluctant to continue taking Citalopram, as I felt it had no effect. I was hoping one of two things, the dose would be upped or he would prescribe something else. However, and this is where I take a bit of a grip with him- He believed I was doing well, and was at University and seemed to be alright. I think his exact words were 'Keep doing what you're doing.'

This has left me feeling quite abandoned, I do understand and appreciate all the things I can do. I can attend my lectures etc, however, I now don't know what else to try with regards to my anxiety and don't feel I can return to the doctors?

Really sorry for the long post, but thanks for reading.
    xx

Re: Medication?

Hi kat,