Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fear of Toilets

Fear of Toilets

I have an embarrassing fear. One that I am able to cope with in small steps.

Ever since being a child I have a fear of toilets, particularly the black seated ones with high cisterns and a chain dangling down.

I am ok with toilets I 'get to know' so my home toilets, my mums toilet and my work toilets are all ok but any other toilet before I open the door I feel fear building up inside me as it swings open to reveal the monster with a gaping mouth! Its really silly but its genuine.

I dont even know if there is a name for this sort of fear.

One thing makes it worse, I have IBS and have the need to use the toilet many times a day..so I have to make sure there is a 'friendly' toilet on my route

Ive just noticed the toilet phobia thread on this page, but on reading it its not the same phobia...mine is less to do with needing to use one but actual fear of the toilet itself. My mum used to have to sit on the back of the toilet seat so I couldnt see the 'eyes' on the lid, while I perched on the edge.

Re: Fear of Toilets

Hi
    All phobias are essentially irrational so yours isn't silly at all, it's just less common. People have fears of all sorts of things, I went to school with someone who had a phobia of milk!

Have you had any therapy for this? CBT can be very useful with phobias. I used to have agoraphobia and found a technique called graded exposure helped. This is where you face the fear and, in small steps, do the things you're scared of until you become desensitised.

Perhaps this would mean visiting different toilets for you? You might want to try a shopping centre on the high street or cafes etc. I also used to be terrified of lifts but I went to Primark where they only have a ground floor and first floor and went up and down in the lift there because I could get out if I needed to, since it didn't go very far. It was practically a cure for me, really, really helped.