Thread: Meeting up with a friend off the internet.

Meeting up with a friend off the internet.

Hi guys,

I've been talking to this guy online now for over 3 years, we have alot in common & I've always seen him as a really valued friend even though we've never met, we've never felt the need I guess...

But now he's suddenly asked me to meet up this saturday night in town for a drink [he doesn't live far away from me eiether] & a chat...normal stuff I could cope very easily with before I became a shy, anti-social, recluse...

& I've stupidly said yes, now I'm worried sick...the strange thing is, I WANT to go, because I need new friends more than ever lately, along with getting out of the house again. But yet I'm too scared. What if he doesn't like me in the flesh? What if we don't get on offline? What if I say something stupid/look stupid? - All that kind of thing...

Anyone ever done anything similiar? I'm really worried & could do with some advice...thanks guys...
    I just wish I was the bright, happy, social person I once was... :(

'You can never win or lose, if you don't run the race'

Re: Meeting up with a friend off the internet.

I don't mean to scare you here, but your main concern here is YOUR safety. This guy could be anyone so worrying about getting on is the least of your worries.

That said, I have been where you are!!!

And you are right - you need to get out and meet new people.

I think you have to look at this as friendship which takes the pressure off immediately. Good friends are way more important than a relationship.

Why don't you choose somewhere you are comfortable with, to meet. You need to be with people so that help is at hand in case he is a nutter, and you also need to be somewhere where you can chat easily.

Can you take friend/brother/ sister with you ? get them to sit at another table just in case?

You need to focus on just being YOU!!! that is all that matters and your SAFETY.