Thread: something weird is happening to me at work

something weird is happening to me at work

HI guys, how are you?

I'm not 100% sure which section of the forum I should post this in, but the situation in general is exacerbating my anxiety, so I plumped for this section, I hope thats okay

Well, I work as a data input clerk, so I spend all my day sat in front of a computer screen. I've been doing this for about 15 months, and in this time I've gradually experienced vision problems that have got worse. I went to see an optician about it and he didn't seem so interested, and said it was just eye strain, and told me to blink more.

But, even though I know I can get over anxious about just about anything, I don't know if my optician is right I've spoken to collegues at work to see if they experience similar symptoms as me and they don't.

What happens is, my eyes feel weary (although I'm not tired), and I start to lose focus in my eyes, and can't see what I am typing. But the more disturbing thing to me, is I become really confused and disorientated; I don't really know what I am doing at all, and I get twitchy and restless. This might sound weird, but I start to sort of hallucinate and almost start speaking out loud to answer all the random thoughts that start flitting through my mind. It is really, really bizarre. It goes on for quite a while, and then when it is over, I am totally tired out and feel nauseous and disorientated.

As I mentioned before, it is very easy for me to let my anxiety go into overdrive and all, but surely this is something I should ask a second opinion about? I have spoken with my line manager about it, although at the time, I left out a lot of details (the hallucination parts and confusion), because I wondered if this was just my anx. But I have realised over time that the I don't have any control of what happens during these strange episodes, either of what my restless body is doing or what is whirling around my head!