Thread: do the symptoms ever go?

do the symptoms ever go?

Hi - my anxiety is much less now and I haven't had a full blown PA in about a month, but am still getting all the symptoms (they just don't cause me to panic anymore) - palpatations, lightheadedness, sweaty hands..... Do these ever go or are they part of me now?
    Thanks
    Love Helen

Hi Helen,

I'm not an expert but maybe these symptoms are part of general anxiety? I rarely suffer panic attacks but I do get very anxious where I feel as you do, and I can almost feel the blood draining form me, get clammy, lightheaded, feel sick etc.

How have you learned to cope with your anxiety as I dont seem to be able to switch off and relax, even with relaxation tapes?

I've even tried reiki and massage but it was torture ....as soon as they say just relax and clear your mind, mines starts to race even more and I get stressed about not being able to relax. Crazy eh?

Coni X

Hi Coni - I'm not sure really!! Everything just seemed to suddenly make sense. I think it was a combination of things - reading the Claire Weekes books really helped, talking to a homeopathist (also trained GP), seeing a CBT therapist and giivng my lifestyle an upheaval - slowing down at work and eating better. One thing my CBT therapist told me to de really worked for me - when I feel a symptom, I tell myself 'OK I feel lightheaded' I've realised that I can't feel any worse than I have, that the symptoms aren't going to get any worse than they have and that I'm still here!! Telling everyone about how I was feeling also helped because I didn't have to hide it.
    I still find it hard to relax, my shoulders and neck are often tense and I sleep very badly. When I'm thinking about relaxing its impossible!! I find talking to friends the most relaxing thing at the moment.
    Take Care
    Love Helen