Thread: Memories

Memories

Hi guys,

Any advice appreciated. I am 28 and work in the legal profession. As a student I worked for almost 10 years in a pharmacy. During this time I stole some stock - pregnancy tests and a contraceptives.

I am disgusted with myself for doing this but worse I fear I may have stolen cash, I have no vivid memory of this nor do I remember specifics but I dont know why I would fear it if it didnt happen.

I am going to a counsellor but he is not a fan of hypnotherpy, as in I was wondering if he could help me remember.

I want to remember as I want to give the money back as I intend to do in relation to the stock.

I dont understand much about memory but I have read that sometimes things you imagine appear real.

I feel like a fake and like I deserve a criminal record but I wouldnt be able to do my job afterwards.

Re: Memories

Hi Ellie,

Rather than punishing yourself for things that you may or may not have done, could you not look towards the future and perhaps think that is the past. Be a better person in the future? I haven't been in your position but I have made decisions I would make differently now. I look on them now as I did what I thought was best at the time? for you, now you know better?

stop beating yourself up over things that you can't change. look towards the future for the person you want to be and be proud of who you become.

Lynnann

Dear Lynnanne

Thank you for your reply & kind words, maybe other people were too horrified at me to respond. I am going to see a psychiatrist this week hopefully she can help me.

Hi Ellie

I wasnt horified at your post, I thought LynAnnn answered it very well. I didnt have anything else to add. What I would say is that we have all done things in the past that we............. shall we say, wish we hadnt .. I suppose thats what lifes about, making mistakes and learning from them. You sound as though you have learned from yours so I would try my best to move on

Take Care.