Thread: work is too stressful

work is too stressful

Hi All

I just need to share! I have had a couple of really good days, now it's 2am and i have woken in a panic. I can't stop dwelling on work issues. Its alwys the same, i waste too much time and energy on silly little things that never happen and aren't important. Why do i do this to myself? I wish i cold stop and refocus on what is important. All the important stuff in my life is good, but my mind takes me back to a silly spreadsheet or email or conversation.

I have a really stressful senior role and I keep asking myself if I still want it. I studied and worked hard to get a good job and now I have it I don't know if I want it. I know I should be glad but I just don't know, i kind of feel like I want to "get off the wheel" for a while. Maybe that is just temporary.

Sorry for ramblings and I know in compared to others my worries are not serious, but they still cause me so much heartache.

Anyne else feel the same?

Re: work is too stressful

I am exactly the same. I've been off sick from my job as a medical secretary for four months now, but previously I used to fret about every little thing that happened at work. I would wake up at 3am having a panic attack, running a conversation or situation over and over in my head. It's really hard to stop it even though you know it won't make anything better.

I worked my way up to my role by doing college qualifications, but now I have my job, I wish a lot of the time that I'd just stuck with something stress free. I sometimes feel quite ashamed because I know I have the brain and ability to do my job, but it just seems to make my anxiety sky high at times. I've come to a point where I don't think my job is worth the risk to my health anymore so I'm considering a step back down.

I know exactly how frustrating it can be. You're definitely not alone.

Laura x

Hi Shadowgirl & Laura