Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: major food poisoning scare...please advise

major food poisoning scare...please advise

I put raw sausage into some stuffing mix and cooked it for 30 mins on 200c which is how I've always cooked it. But know I am panicking that I may have given everyone food poisioning, especially worried about my daughter who is 38 weeks pregnant. Can any one advise if it is alright to cook raw sausage meat like this, like I said I have cooked it this way many times before, so I don't know why I am in a major panic about it now, please help!

Re: major food poisoning scare...please advise

That is absolutely fine as 200 is tops and half an hour is plenty long enough at that tempreture unless there was 10 LB of it in one huge lump which I am sure was not the case and that it was fresh meat , I bet it was lovely.
    PS I am a qualified chef and I would eat it.

Thanx both loads for your quick replies and its good to get reassurance from a qualified chef. Anyway what I did was use 1 fresh pork sausage, squeezed it out of the skin and mixed it with 170g sage and onion packet mix and boiling water, then put the mixture into a shallow roasting tin and cooked it for 30 mins on 200c, it went really crispy and brown on top so I couldn't really cook it any longer as it would have burnt, and it was soft and moist under the crust. Are you sure this is ok? As I have said before I always cook it like this, but my anxiety relapse seems to have given me an obsession about food poisoning, and of course I googled, but most of the answers suggest cooking the sausage before it goes into the mixture. I'm not so worried about myself this time but more my pregnant daughter x