Thread: Diagnosing other people

Diagnosing other people

When I first became ill and I started learning about depression and it's symptoms, I'd look around and think "you must be atleast slightly depressed...and you...and you"

There are people I know who drink a lot, people without many friends or interests, people unhappy with their jobs or relationships. I guess they must live on the borderline of being depressed and I just happen to have crossed that line.

Actually, it can be quite difficult to find healthy, balanced people. I know the sort of person that i want to be: someone at ease with myself, clear about where I'm heading, up for challenges and that is the sort of person that I want to associate with. As far as i can see, those people are the exception rather than the norm!!

Ships in harbour are safe..but that's not what ships were built for.

I don't entirely agree with what you are saying here.

"I guess they must live on the borderline of being depressed"

Depression is not something that many people get that easily. We may say that we feel depressed but what we probably mean is we feel miserable, down, fed-up etc. Depression is not very common when you are talking specifically about clinical depression if that is what you are referring to.

"Actually, it can be quite difficult to find healthy, balanced people. I know the sort of person that i want to be: someone at ease with myself, clear about where I'm heading, up for challenges and that is the sort of person that I want to associate with. As far as i can see, those people are the exception rather than the norm!!"

I regard myself as healthy and balanced etc and I think most of the people around me are as well. To me it is the norm and not the exception.

Just my thoughts anyway.

Nicola

Hi Nicola,

maybe it's just my depressed perspective. maybe it's a sign that I'm associating with the wrong sort of people.