Thread: Terrified I will never get my regular appetite back

Terrified I will never get my regular appetite back

Hi,

Recently, I have not had much of an appetite lately and I'm to the point I have been crying over it. This started on Thursday of last week and has been going on officially for a week now.

I noticed this started happening when I started studying for midterms over the weekend. So, initially, I thought that this might be stress causing me to lose my appetite. I was practically in my room most of the time studying and I didn't allow myself much break time.

Over the week, I have had an appetite for things, but when food is in front of me and I actually put it in my mouth, it does not taste as well as I imagined it would. As a result, I still haven't been eating much. I had my last midterm today and I still don't have much of a regular appetite.

I'm so scared I will not get my regular appetite back and even worse, I am so scared this is a sign of something much more serious than stress. I've never heard of anyone losing their appetite like this due to stress.

Should I be concerned?

Re: Terrified I will never get my regular appetite back

Quote Originally Posted by rachlexis13 View Post

Should I be concerned?
    Nope

Re: Terrified I will never get my regular appetite back

I have had so many symptoms caused by anxiety that eventually went away, and lack of appetite is one. For me, it lasted 4 weeks. I could barely bring myself to eat anything. Thinking about eating tasty foods no longer made me excited, and nothing tasted that good anyway during that time. I lost a bit of weight.

Eventually it went away, only to be replaced by plenty of other anxiety-related symptoms (what a fun journey!). I eat treats all the time now, because I had previously been so scared that I would never enjoy them again...