Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: >>> Hello I'm a hypochondriac with... Heart worries<<<

>>> Hello I'm a hypochondriac with... Heart worries<<<

Hello, I am new to no more panic however I have been an avid reader for some time. I have suffered with hypochondria since I was 17 (I am now 28) and have feared most illness which have resulted in me having numerous medical tests most of which I have funded privately. This has caused me to struggle financially but thankfully I am not in debt as a result of it. Every time I obsess about an illness I am convinced that "this time it's real"

I have fallen foul of body scanning and dr google. I also seek reassurance from others and doctors. I avoid medical tv programmes as I fear that these may have me convinced that I have a new illness.

I wanted to speak up as I know all of you on this forum are going through what I am going through. I know that I will not find the reassurance that I need from this forum... I just want to speak to people who understand me! I will only get better by seaking the right help. I have tried SSRI's and cbt but neither worked and I fell back into my old habits. I only get worked when I have symptoms. When I am symptom free I tend not to worry.

So what fuels my anxiety... I think it's a fear of death and the unknown. It's human nature to want to survive against all odds and live. I guess it's the way our body's are programmed. There is also other worries like financial and family issues that can arise as a result of being ill. These also make me scared.

A little bit about me. I don't drink or smoke tobacco. I am a normal weight however I do not exercise regularly and my diet is not good. I recently became a father 5 months ago of a wonderful baby boy however he can be stressful and finally my job is stressful at times and I work long hours but I do love my work and can not think of anything else I'd want to do. My work requires me to be fit and at the moment I feel very unfit.