Thread: High Blood Pressure

High Blood Pressure

So I've been suffering from crippling health anxiety for the last for years ever since I graduated high school. I recently went to er for a stomach issue. They took me back and took my vitals and my blood pressure was 188/110 and bpm was 143. I'm 22 years old and im slightly overweight I weigh 213 and I'm 5'11. I'm scared that this high blood pressure/high heart rate is going to cause heart failure or a blood vessel in my head to pop. I've had 7 EKGs over past couple years and they all come back normal accept the doctors saying that it was a little fast. Is my heart fine? or should I ask for a echo cardiogram when I go in for a psychical march the 6th? both sides of my family suffers from panic disorder and anxiety. My dad said his blood pressure used to do the same thing when he would have panic attacks but I'm still not reassured.

Re: High Blood Pressure

Can you ask your doctor to prescribe a small dose of a beta blocker? That will fix the tachycardia. I had the same problem due to anxiety and that’s what my doctor did. My heart rate is fine now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B blockers aren’t now the meds of choice though I agree might relax you a little.
    In the uk they would do a 24 hour continuous Bp monitor to prove it was only anxiety. Most docs have them. It would be ok asleep
    You need of course to exclude a thyroid issue and have kidneys including scan checked. Most of this is all ok as you say it and obviously relaxation , yoga etc etc will help.
    If I was your doc I would also check for “raised catecholamines” read it up via Google and read webMD. It’s a very rare problem of a non cancerous tumour bashing out adrenaline at will. My levels were raised a bit due to anxiety and no adrenal tumour was found.
    Good luck
    Anxiety is a bummer

I AM NO LOGER PRACTICING OR INSURED
    So simple advice given available on google.
    D