Thread: Assessing the link between parenting and anxiety in childhood.

Assessing the link between parenting and anxiety in childhood.

I am a psychology student at Lancaster University and am working on a research project looking at the parenting styles of anxious parents and comparing them to none anxious parents, in a study entitled; Assessing the link between parenting and anxiety in childhood. Anxiety in childhood is a really hot topic in the research literature at the moment and requires a lot more work.

Nicholas Todd under the supervision of Professor Charlie Lewis is conducting a research study looking at parental descriptions of their interactions with their children.
    If you
    • have a self-referred or diagnosed anxiety disorder
    • are the parents of a child between 3 and 9 years old, and
    • would be prepared to answer a few short questions
    We would really like you to take part in our study. We are particularly keen to involve resident or involved fathers as well as mothers in this study. Fathers have often been neglected from this type of research for no good reason.

Taking part in this study will give you the opportunity to contribute to research which may help the better understanding of the development of anxiety in childhood, which in turn may contribute to the development of parental interventions.

You can participate face to face, over the phone and on the internet.

To find out more about the project and to take part online visit the following website: http://www.psych.lancs.ac.uk/research/p9.html

Nicholas Todd
    Psychology Department
    Lancaster University
    Lancaster
    LA1 4YF
    email: n.todd@lancaster.ac.uk

This study has had full approval from the Lancaster University Ethics Committee.

The study end date is the 3rd of October 2008.

“Don't be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don't have to live forever, you just have to live.” - Natalie Babbitt