Thread: I'm really struggling

I'm really struggling

Hi all, this is my first time posting on here and I'm just hoping for some support, as I feel so desperately low with this. I believe I'm suffering with DP/DR. I don't feel like a person anymore, I barely feel like I exist at all. Things seem strange to me. Having a shower feels really strange because I don't feel properly there. I question and analyse things all the time, like really simple things until they lose their meaning. I feel like everyone else is part of the normal world but I can't get back to it. It scares me so much and I feel very depressed. I feel like never going to get better. I'm signed off work with depression, I take meds and I'm due to have some therapy soon. I just don't feel I can go on like this anymore it's too hard, it's like mental torture everyday. By evening I sometimes feel a bit better but when the next day comes I feel back to square one if not worse. I made the mistake of reading dpself help forum and loads of people on there say they have had it years. I'm just not strong enough to cope with this for years, I feel like loosing my mind. It makes me feel like I just don't want to live anymore, but I wouldn't want to devastate my family by acting on that thought. Will I ever get through this?

Re: I'm really struggling

Yes.....you will!!

I felt the exact way you do now, many years ago when first diagnosed with depression, anxiety and panic disorder. What you describe is definitely DP/DR, and it is very, very normal and common with high anxiety. I still get it every now and again, but much less intensely than I did, only when my anxiety or stress levels are up a bit, but once you understand that it is just a side effect of anxiety, it does make it easier to tackle.