Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Excessive Saliva

Excessive Saliva

Yesterday I started having "producing" way too much saliva. Also I've noticed in the past couple of days that I have a wet patch around 4cm in diameter from drooling. The saliva is excessive as when I speak I have to stop frequently to swallow otherwise I would spit someone, and to prevent drooling I have to swallow every 10-15 seconds which is very annoying.

I don't want to connect it to bulbar ALS as it doesn't make much sense since I can pronounce words properly, I can eat normally. I don't know. Never had this thing before.

Re: Excessive Saliva

Still have way too much saliva. Makes it hard for me to hold lectures, as I am a teacher and I have to swallow all the time so I don't start spitting. Surprisingly, I don't droll why sleeping or while awake, just saliva starts accumulating fast and I have to swallow all the time.

Have you tried taking some antacids? I sometimes get this all day and it's so annoying, 'cause i have to swallow all the time! I typically attribute it to reflux, although antacids don't always help. I just have to wait for it to pass

Tried it, didn't help. My voice is normal though, I mean I record myself while doing lectures so that is good, but I feel my neck muscles hurt as I am probably straining a bit more while talking as I am conscious of it.

Excessive saliva is getting unbearable. I am definitely producing too much as I've checked with that saliva flow test and I am producing more than a double of normal so it's not the swallowing issue or me just feeling too much saliva but it's actually there. Today I am also feeling that it's mostly coming on the right side, so the salivary glands on that side produce too much. It might be this way for the past x days, but today I've actually noticed it.

I don't want to go to neurologist but I feel like I will break soon.