Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New girl

New girl

Hi,
    A friend of mine told me about this site so I thought I'd give it a shot. Already I feel a bit better knowing I'm not alone.
    I'm a 26 year old teacher who has suffered with panic attacks for 5 years. Things had been going quite well recently and I felt like I was getting somewhere (but having to work really hard at it!) About 2 weeks ago I had a really big panic attack while I was away with some friends and ended up in an ambulance and taken to hospital. I passed out and just couldn't stop shaking and crying. The whole thing has really shaken me up again and already I'm starting to dread the simplest of tasks again. I've always avoided certain situations but now there are just more of them again.
    I just feel exhausted with it all. I had CBT a couple of years ago and I'm on cipramil and have been for quite a long time.
    I hope this site will help x

Hi J9,
    I'm sorry you've had such a rough time of it - i'm really glad you found this site as i think it will help you deal with your panic.
    Was the CBT a total disaster for you?
    Take care,
    Henri x

Hi and welcome aboard the forum

Start with this page on the website which may offer you some initial help - www.nomorepanic.co.uk/firststeps.htm

I am sure we can be of use to you on here so stick around ok.

I know it is hard but try not to avoid anywhere as it soon becomes a big issue and takes even more time to conquer.

Are you able to work or get out much atall?

Nicola

Hi J9 this site will definitly help, there are lots of wonderful people here with lots of friendly, helpful advice.
    I too work in education and have suffered for a while but had an extrememly severe panic last year.
    I stopped going anywhere and doing lots of things and I now regret it because although I am feeling loads better some hurdles are still too high to jump.