Thread: Private Health Checks

Private Health Checks

Well, right now I'm feeling pretty good, but I'm slightly concerned about the effects of exercise over the last couple of weeks. The doctor seems unconcerned.

Anyway, kind of what I was hoping for when going to the GP was to get some general health checks, particularly relating to my mountain biking. i.e. a fitness check up. But I'm not getting anything like that.

So I'm considering a private check up, e.g. like a Bupa Health Check. It's v.expensive though, but I can at least cover it through my business as I'm a self-employed contractor.

I've read a few things about needing GP approval though. Is this the case? And how best to approach the GP about it as I'm guessing they'll be rather negative about it.

I can see their point in part, in that the things revealed in tests can cause further worry. Just looking at Bupa's list of things they do, one if a risk of heart attack assessment, and whilst you may be okay now it may say you are at risk 10 or 20 years down the line, and that's going to cause a lot of worry!

Anyway, I'm not really after it to pick out every little thing. Just really to check if I'm fine to be out exercising. I suppose my worry is that what if there's some underlying thing and I could collapse right in the middle of exercising. GP's answer is to not worry about things like that. Problem is the NHS approach is to work on symptoms. If you have little or none at the time, they tell you to go away.

Dunno really. Anyone think it's worth it, or just likely to add to the worry and empty my bank account?

I'll see how I do with some exercise this weekend anyway, and if I'm okay after that then I'll probably forget about it.

Re: Private Health Checks

How old are you and do you have any reason to be worried?

In general, exercise is a good thing and your body is a self regulating mechanism. IT will tell you when its had enough. And the telling is pretty hard to ignore.