Thread: out of interest

out of interest

This is my first time to post and I have a couple of questions. I will first introduce my situation however.

N.B. I didn't realise how long this post would be (had a bit of wine and a hard couple of weeks), you can skip to the end for the questions.

I have had social phobia since early secondary school, to a lesser degree then than now. This manifested and agorophobia and social phobia where both diagnosed by my mid teens, I am now 25.

I would describe myself as a functional agoro/social phobic these days, in the way functional alcoholics are portrayed. At one point (spanning many years) I would not leave the house unless drunk and have had (in the past, not now) several issues with substance/alcohol abuse in order to feel functional.

I have always been a driven person (I am pretty successfull in life and always try to do my best) and am rarely deeply depressed for more than a couple of weeks at a time, however when these weeks come I am a mess.

Panic attacks are still an everyday occurence (when I venture into public), and these tend to cascade for as long as I am in a situation outside my home/car.

The main worry I have is that I wet myself and have resorted to purposfully being in a state of dehydration, although this does not seem to help matters....it just means that if I do pee myself the urine is so dark in colour I cannot tip a glass and say it was the water.