PDA

View Full Version : Work worries - handed my notice in.

sam_90
18-12-11, 00:51
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and couldn't find a suitable sub forum to post in, so have decided to post here, due to it being down to anxiety issues.

OK, so I have been working in stressful yet boring job for the past 8 months. I find the work boring and dire and it didn't help my anxiety and I would become anxious before work and would dread going in. I was in tears a lot before my shift started. I became very miserable.

I started looking for a new job with less stress and less hours about a month ago. The other day I had an interview with another company and was told I got the job on Thursday (day after the interview). I was so happy as you can manage.

I wrote out my notice and handed it in to my boss today. I was very nervous about doing it because I honestly didn't know what her reaction would be. I have to give a months notice so I was worried there would be bad feelings and I'm going to have to put up with it for another month before I leave. Here's the thing though:

She was shocked (which I understood) however she kept putting me on the spot and asking why I was leaving, over and over again. This was infront of the rest of the team who were eagerly listening in!! I was working myself up into a state by then & told her I had secured new employment.. she wasn't very happy with me at all after that. She seemed to indicate that I was using this job as something to do whilst looking for something better. I ended up leaving in tears (but no one saw that).

My next shift is on Monday and I'm dreading it. I work 30 hours a week and I'm so anxious. I don't want to go but I know I have to.

I know this has turned into a bit of a rant/moan but someone please cheer me up! :)

virgo199060
18-12-11, 01:13
I'm really sorry that you've had such a horrible time!!