PDA

View Full Version : Influenza vaccine

jothenurse
23-10-10, 13:27
Does anyone ever get panicky about shots? I am a nurse and yesterday I prepared two syringes of the flu vaccine, one for myself and one for my son. Because I wear contacts and I don't see as well for close up, I had another nurse check the two syringes to make sure it was accurate (.5ml). I handed them back to her and told her to give me one, and that I would take the other one home to give to my son. So, she did, and of course having a med phobia, I was pretty nervous receiving it, but I knew I had to take one. Now I am thinking, because my arm is so sore and I don't trust my close vision, did I get too much of the vaccine? It's like I can't stop worrying about it. Then I tell myself that she also checked them, but then, did she check them carefully knowing that I was a nurse and maybe she didn't feel the need to recheck that carefully? I know this is stupid, but I feel panicky about it. Can anyone give me some help on this? I googled it, about vaccine overdose, and there really hasn't been any big deal with those that have gotten too much. They even have a dose for people over 65 years of age with a high potency that contains 4 times the regular dose of antigen. So why can't I stop feeling panicky about this?

nomorepanic
23-10-10, 13:52
I am sure you will be ok Jo but I would worry more that you are nurse and not able to see close up what doses you are putting in syringes! Can you not get some better glasses/contacts for close up work.

Do you usually have to measure out doses of drugs?

jothenurse
23-10-10, 14:30